Habitat for Humanity Construction Schedule

October 3 – December 9, 2000

Soulforce originally called for volunteers last fall, and 35 of you responded. But there’s room for more.

Soulforce volunteers planning to spend the week, October 3-7, should plan to arrive on Monday afternoon, October 2, for dinner and a Habit for Humanity briefing at the First Christian Church, our Soulforce sanctuary for the week. First Christian is also providing housing for all volunteer workers who request it.

Here’s the schedule:

Tue., Oct. 3 – need 20 helpers Framing walls; sheathing
Wed., Oct. 4 – need 20 helpers Framing walls, 2nd floor; sheathing
Thu., Oct. 5 – need 20 helpers 2nd Floor, walls; sheathing interior walls, stairwell, doors and windows
Fri., Oct. 6 – need 20 helpers Roof trusses, paper, porches
Sat., Oct. 7 – need 25 helpers Shingles, facia, rake trim; finish porches, finish framing
Sat., Oct. 14 – need 20 helpers Vinyl siding, porches, wall insulation
Sat., Oct. 28 – need 15 helpers Finish siding, carpentry; trim started
Sat., Nov. 4 – need 15 helpers Trim, set cabinets, paint prep, interior doors
Sat., Nov. 11 – need 15 helpers Finish trim, painting
Sat., Nov. 18 – need 15 helpers Finish painting, hardware
Sat., Dec. 2 – need 10 helpers Final touchups, paint porches; punchlist
Sat., Dec. 9 – need 15 helpers Landscaping, cleaning

Dedication TBA

Gandhi says there are two ways to do justice:
First, help those who suffer, and second, help cut off the suffering at its source. Here’s our chance to help end the suffering of one homeless family. Jewish and Christian prophets both call us to "house the homeless." Here’s a wonderful opportunity to do our Creator’s bidding. Don’t worry about not having skills or experience at building a house. Habitat encourages everyone to serve — not just those with construction experience. Volunteers are encouraged to use their existing talents — and to discover and develop new skills along the way.

I can do it — sign me up!